81st Plenary Session of the Venice Commission of the Council of Europe

14 December 2009 - Professor Jasna Omejec, President of the Court and a substitute member of the European Commission for Democracy through Law (Venice Commission) from the Republic of Croatia participated in its 81st Plenary Session, held in Venice from 11 to 12 December 2009. In addition to regular activities of the Commission related to the constitutional assistance, elections and referendum issues the Agenda also entailed the election of the new president, vice-presidents and the members of the Bureau. The Commission elected Mr. Gianni Buquicchio (member of the Commission from Italy, and a former Secretary of the Commission) as the President, Mr. Ian Helgesen (member of the Commission from Norway) as the Ist Vice-president and the President of the Scientific Council to be established. Mr. Peter Patzolay (member of the Commission from Hungary) and Ms. Finola Flanagan (member of the Commission from Irland) were elected Vice-presidents of the Commission.